Friday, March 30, 2012

Short Bursts :: Mission Of Burma, Japandroids, & Sigur Rós

At long last, Boston's post punk legends, Mission Of Burma have new home for which to deliver their long awaited and completed 5th LP. On July 9th Burma will issue Unsound on London based Fire Records (Guided By Voices, Cardinal, Giant Sand). Dust Devil which you can hear below, is the first new track from the band since 2009's terrific, The Sound The Speed The Light and we think you'll agree it's well worth the three year wait, stunning live shows not withstanding.

Mission Of Burma have announced a few dates in advance of the album's release that will have them playing 3 shows in "The Show Me State".

04-04 St. Louis, MO - Firebird
04-05 Columbia, MO - Mojo's
04-06 Kansas City, MO - Middle of the Map Festival
05-18 Sevilla, Spain - Territorios Sevilla 2012

Vancouver's menacing noise duo, Japandroids are set to return with their follow up to 2009's smashing debut, Post-Nothing. On June 5th Japandroids will drop Celebration Rock via Polyvinyl Records as well as the advance single, The House That Heaven Built b/w Jack The Ripper (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds cover)on May 15th. Both releases can currently be pre-order at Polyvinyl. As per the norm Japandroids will tour extensively in support of their new set, which finds them returning to our city on June 26th for a show at Brighton Music Hall. Check the snarling A side to the bands new single, The House That Heaven Built where they proceed to deliver one of their finest tracks to date laced with endearing pop hooks.

Earlier this week Icelandic glacial pop merchants, Sigur Rós officially ended their indefinite hiatus with the announcement that they will release of their 6th LP, Valtari this spring, which in Icelandic means, Steamroller. Fronter Jonsi Birggison recently described his bands new album as "an avalanche in slow motion". The new electronic leaning album will be released on May 29th by XL and was produced by Birgisson and his partner and collaborator Alex Somers. Sigur Rós recentkly issued the album first single and video, Ekki Múkk. It's nearly eight minutes of ethereal beauty that reminds us of why we were drawn to Sigur Rós to begin with.

Valtari Track Listing:
01. Ég Anda
02. Ekki Múkk
03. Varúð
04. Rembihnútur
05. Dauðalogn
06. Varðeldur
07. Valtari
08. Fjögur Pianó

No comments: